University of Florida College of Medicine

Conflict of Interest Disclosure

Heart Failure Management 2021: Precision Medicine to Personalize Care

It is the policy of the University of Florida College of Medicine to ensure balance, independence, objectivity, and scientific rigor in all programs it provides. In accordance with the ACCME’s Standards for Integrity and Independence in Accredited Continuing Education, the University of Florida College of Medicine is required to disclose to the activity audience the relevant financial relationships of all persons involved in the selection, development, and presentation of CME content. Persons who refuse or fail to disclose conflicts of interest are disqualified from participating in the CME activity.

All relevant financial relationships listed have been mitigated.

Relevant financial relationships appear below.

The following speakers and planning committee members have an affiliation/financial interest in the following areas:

  • Kirkwood Adams, Jr., MD – Research Support: Amgen, Novartis, Merck, Roche Dx, BMS, Boehringer Ingelheim, Bayer, Lilly, LivaNova USA; Consultant:Cytokinetics, Amgen, Relypsa
  • Nancy M. Albert, PhD, RN – Research Support: Novartis; Consultant: Novartis, AstraZeneca, Amgen, American Regent, Boston Scientific, Merck, and Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Javed Butler, MD, MPH – Consultant: Abbott, Adrenomed, Amgen, Applied Therapeutics, Array, Astra Zeneca, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, CVRx, G3 Pharma, Impulse Dynamics, Innolife, Janssen, LivaNova, Luitpold, Medtronic, Merck, Novartis, NovoNordisk, Relypsa, Sequana Medical, and Vifor; Speaker’s Bureau: Novartis, Boehringer Ingelheim-Lilly, Astra Zeneca, Janssen
  • Peter Carson, MD – Consultant: Boehringer Ingelheim, Chairman clinical events committee EMPEROR heart failure studies
  • Christopher Chien, MD – Consultant: Abbott Laboratories, Boston Scientific; Other: Clinical trials for Abbott Laboratories, Boston Scientific, Lutipold, Boehringer Ingelheim, Astra Zeneca
  • Lauren Cooper, MD – Consultant: AstraZeneca; Speaker’s Bureau: AstraZeneca
  • James Fang, MD – Research Support: Novartis, TRANSFORM-HF substudy, HFpEF grant, Johnson & Johnson, Abbott, Windtree; Consultant: AstraZeneca, CardioRenal, PVOMICS
  • G. Michael Felker, MD, MHS – Research Support: Amgen, Bayer, Merck, Cytokinetics, Myokardia; Consultant: Novartis, Amgen, BMS, Cytokinetics, Medtronic, Cardionomic, Boehringer-Ingelheim, American Regent, Abbott, AstraZeneca, Reprieve, and Sequana, and has served on clinical endpoint committees/data safety monitoring boards for Amgen, Merck, Medtronic, EBR Systems, V-Wave, LivaNova, Siemens, and Rocket Pharma
  • Anil Gehi, MD – Research Support: Bristol Myers Squib Foundation; Speaker’s Bureau: Zoll Medical, Abbott, Biotronik
  • Barry Greenberg, MD – Research Support: Rocket Pharma; Consultant: Mesoblast
  • Marvin A. Konstam, MD – Research Support: LivaNova, SC Pharma, Cardurian; Consultant: Pfizer, Cytokinetics, Alnylam, Boehringer-Ingelheim, Merck, Luitpold, LivaNova, SC Pharma, Cardurian
  • David Lanfear, MD, MS – Research Support: Somalogic, Janssen, Amgen, Astra Zeneca, Lily, Cytokinetics; Consultant: Martin Pharmaceuticals, Amgen, Janssen, Cytokinetics, Abbott, Ortho Diagnostics; Other: A patent (beta-blocker polygenic score) that is assigned to Henry Ford Health System and is not licensed.
  • JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD – Research Support: AstraZeneca, Volumetrix, Sensible Medical; Consultant: Abbott, AstraZeneca, Boehringer Ingelheim, Boston Scientiic, CVRx, Edwards Lifesciences, Impulse Dynamics, VWave
  • Mathew Maurer, MD – Research Support: Pfizer, Alnylam, Eidos, Ionis; Consultant: GSK, Alnylam, Intellia, Prothena
  • Robert Mentz, MD – Research Support: Abbott, American Regent, Amgen, AstraZeneca, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim/Eli Lilly, Boston Scientific, Cytokinetics, Fast BioMedical, Gilead, Innolife, Medtronic, Merck, Novartis, Relypsa, Respicardia, Roche, Sanofi, Vifor, Windtree Therapeutics, and Zoll; Consultant: research support and honoraria from Abbott, American Regent, Amgen, AstraZeneca, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim/Eli Lilly, Boston Scientific, Cytokinetics, Fast BioMedical, Gilead, Innolife, Medtronic, Merck, Novartis, Relypsa, Respicardia, Roche, Sanofi, Vifor, Windtree Therapeutics, and Zoll
  • Alan Miller, MD – Research Support: Merck; Consultant: Boerhinger Ingelheim, CVRx, Abbvie
  • Christopher O’Connor, MD – Research Support: Merck (VICTORIA Biomarker Sub-Study); Consultant: Bayer, Bristol Myers Squibb Foundation, Dey, L.P. (Merck), and Abiomed
  • J. Herbert Patterson, PharmD – Research Support: Boehringer Ingelhiem; Consultant: Novartis, SQ Innovations, Alnylam, Otsuka
  • Sara Paul, DNP, FNP – Consultant: Abbott – Steering committee for GUIDE-HF
  • Kavita Sharma, MD – Consultant: Novartis, Bayer, Janssen, Bristol Myers Squibb; Speaker’s Bureau: Novartis, Bayer, Janssen, Bristol Myers Squibb
  • Faisal Syed, BSc, MBChB – Research Support: Boston Scientific; Consultant: Medtronic, Kiniksa Pharmaceuticals, Johnson & Johnson; Speaker’s Bureau: Impulse Dynamic, Zoll
  • Hector O. Ventura, MD – Speaker’s Bureau: AstraZeneca, Pfizer

The following speakers and planning committee members have no relevant financial relationships to disclose:

  • Megan Andrews, ANP
  • Emily Baker, MSN, AGNP-C
  • Matthew Baker, MD
  • Barry Bleske, PharmD
  • Mirnela Byku, MD, PhD, MBA
  • Patricia Chang, MD, MHS
  • Robert Cole, MD
  • Williamm Cotts, MD
  • Katherine Di Palo, PharmD
  • Stephanie Dunlap, DO
  • Uri Elkayam, MD
  • Mona Fiuzat, PharmD
  • Jana M. Glotzer, MSN, ACNP
  • Sudha Jaganathan MD
  • Amanda Lee
  • Daniel Lenihan, MD
  • Peter Liu, MD
  • Tammy Long, AGNP
  • Carrie Neal, RN, BSN
  • Robert L Page, II, PharmD, MPH
  • Ileana L Piña, MD, MPH
  • Jo Ellen Rodgers, PharmD
  • Lisa Rose-Jones, MD
  • Douglas D. Schocken, MD
  • Erika Schoenborn, PharmD
  • Elizabeth Volz, MD
  • Sarah Waters, ANP-BC
  • Clyde W Yancy, MD, MSc
  • James B. Young, MD

No one else in a position to control content has any financial relationships to disclose. Conflict of interest information for the CME Advisory Committee members can be found on the following website: https://cme.ufl.edu/disclosure/.